As I posted earlier, this summer I have been interning downtown at Design Commission, a Seattle design firm. For one of my bigger projects I was tasked with creating a different type of display for use in the gallery that makes up the front part of the office. I created this origami surface using some designs I learned from “Folding Techniques for Designers.”

I then created a system for taking Instagram feeds and mapping the pictures to this structure. Using a Raspberry Pi, I projected the resulting images onto the surface. (More on the technical side in a later post)

The unique thing about this surface and this display is that you can look at it from different angles to see different pictures.

It also seems to glow at night!

IMG_9382
At night
IMG_9400
Mid-day front view
IMG_9379
Night side view
IMG_9405
Day side view
